/Delhi Capitals bowl, bring in Morris for Lamichhane

Delhi Capitals bowl, bring in Morris for Lamichhane

Chris Morris celebrates after Parthiv Patel’s dismissal © BCCI

Toss: Delhi Capitals chose to bowl v Rajasthan Royals

Shreyas Iyer won the toss and Delhi Capitals chose to bowl at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur against Rajasthan Royals.

Iyer said he had faith in his team’s batting line-up and opted to chase because he reckoned the pitch would stay the same through the game. Royals captain Steven Smith said he would have also bowled, and the surface for the game looked more batting friendly than it had been for the past few matches in Jaipur.

This will be the first meeting between these two teams this season.

Capitals will go to the top of the points table if they win this match, tied with Chennai Super Kings on 14 points, but ahead on net run-rate. This will also put them in an excellent position to qualify for the playoffs for the first time since 2012.

Victory is more critical for Royals, who have only six points from nine games so far. They also don’t have Jos Buttler, who has already gone back to England for the birth of his child.

Rajasthan Royals: 1 Ajinkya Rahane, 2 Sanju Samson (wk), 3 Steven Smith (capt), 4 Ben Stokes, 5 Riyan Parag, 6 Ashton Turner, 7 Stuart Binny, 8 Jofra Archer, 9 Shreyas Gopal, 10 Jaydev Unadkat, 11 Dhawal Kulkarni

Delhi Capitals: 1 Prithvi Shaw, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Shreyas Iyer (capt), 4 Rishabh Pant (wk), 5 Colin Ingram, 6 Axar Patel, 7 Sherfane Rutherford, 8 Chris Morris, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Amit Mishra, 11 Ishant Sharma

Saurabh Somani is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.